Collection: White Tea

White tea is a high quality tea that originates from the Fujian province of China and comes from areas such as Fuding, Zhenghe, Song Xi or Jianyang. White tea must come from one of these regions, you can compare it with Champagne. Champagne may also only have its name if it comes from the Champagne region.

White tea is known as one of the most delicate teas because it is so minimally processed. White tea is harvested before the leaves of the tea plant are fully open, when the young buds are still covered with fine white hairs, hence the name "white" tea. (Silver Needle)

These buds and unfolded leaves of the newest growth on the tea plant are picked by hand and then dried quickly and carefully so that the leaves cannot oxidize. This minimal processing and low oxidation results in one of the most delicate and purest teas available.

The 4 most famous white teas are:

  1. Silver Needle of Bai Hao Yinzhen - Only the silver haired buds of the 1st crop.
  2. White Peony or Pai Mu Tan - Buds with the 2 youngest leaves of the 2nd crop
  3. Tribute Eyebrow of Gong Mei - Mixture of silver needle and white peony but contains fewer buds and is often used to make white tea cake.
  4. Long Life Eyebrow of  Shou Mei - Picked at the end of the season.

Silver Needle and Pai Mu Tan are the most famous of these.

 

 

White Tea

Collection: Thé Blanc

Le thé blanc est un thé de haute qualité originaire de la province chinoise du Fujian et provenant de régions telles que Fuding, Zhenghe, Song Xi ou Jianyang. Le thé blanc doit provenir d'une de ces régions, vous pouvez le comparer au Champagne. Le champagne peut aussi n'avoir son nom que s'il provient de la région champenoise.

Le thé blanc est connu comme l'un des thés les plus délicats car il est très peu transformé. Le thé blanc est récolté avant que les feuilles du théier ne soient complètement ouvertes, lorsque les jeunes bourgeons sont encore couverts de fins poils blancs, d'où le nom de thé "blanc". (Aiguille d'argent)

Ces bourgeons et ces feuilles dépliées de la plus récente croissance du théier sont cueillis à la main puis séchés rapidement et soigneusement afin que les feuilles ne puissent pas s'oxyder. Ce traitement minimal et cette faible oxydation donnent l'un des thés les plus délicats et les plus purs disponibles.

Les 4 thés blancs les plus connus sont :

  1. Aiguille d'argent de Bai Hao Yinzhen - Seuls les bourgeons aux cheveux argentés de la 1ère récolte.
  2. Pivoine Blanche ou Pai Mu Tan - Bourgeons avec les 2 plus jeunes feuilles de la 2ème récolte
  3. Sourcil hommage de Gong Mei - Mélange d'aiguilles d'argent et de pivoine blanche mais a moins de bourgeons et est souvent utilisé pour faire du gâteau au thé blanc.
  4. Sourcil longue durée de Shou Mei - Cueilli à la fin de la saison.

Silver Needle et Pai Mu Tan sont les plus célèbres d'entre eux.